Synchronicity Visits a Teacher

If you know me, you know how I excited I get about the topic of synchronicity. If you don’t know this about me, well, now you know. And now that I am blogging about synchronicity, you can imagine how doubly excited I am.

My favourite nickname for synchronicity so far is divine winks. I’m going to put a twist on this and call them divine synchs. How these synchs usually come to me are through words. For example, I’ll be contemplating something all day, and then the answer pops up coincidently on a t-shirt or bag on the street or subway.

Stay Real
subway in Hong Kong

Or maybe friends and I have been discussing a very obscure topic, and the next show on TV is about just that. There is something both comforting and uncanny about these moments. I see them as signs that I’m on the path that I’m supposed to be on. So if these synchs arrive at a higher frequency than usual, it means I need to slow down and pay attention.

This post is me slowing down and paying attention.

The word that has been popping up is, confidence. It first revealed itself while doing research for a post I’m writing for the iTDi blog. The research involved me going through all the posts I’ve written on Throwing Back Tokens since 2009 and looking for themes. This is when the synch first appeared. Below are all the posts that speak directly of or even allude to confidence.

The next time it showed up was during our post lesson observation feedback. One of the observers noted how confident the teachers who had just team-taught looked to him. The way they were able to answer questions and give directions in English made him realize how important it is to feel confident as a teacher. For him, without such confidence, it was really hard for him to teach.

Maybe it isn’t a coincidence that the next day the word came up again after team-teaching, but I’ll still call it a synch. This time it was the teacher who taught the lesson who shared how valuable confidence is when it comes to standing in front of the class.

I’m not sure what all this means exactly, but I think it has something to do with a trajectory I am supposed to take: maybe research into confidence and the teaching self; maybe help teachers explore what confidence means to them and how they can actualize it; or maybe I need more confidence myself. Whatever it means, this is a synch I’m keeping my eye on.

8 thoughts on “Synchronicity Visits a Teacher

  1. Greetings….I too am a teacher and about twelve years ago was first introduced to the concept of synchronicity in the movie “Signs.” The rest, shall we say, is history. I like your term God synchs and if you don’t mind, will start to use this term as well. I’m currently reading a book by Deepak Chopra entitled “How to Know God” and although it doesn’t refer to it as synchronicity, he has already offered up several examples of “God Synchs” in the little bit I’ve read. Thank you so much for sharing your story and I look forward to learning more!

    David

    Like

    1. Hello David!
      Thank you so much for reading, for subscribing, and for commenting! I was excited to learn you are also a teacher interested in God synchs (go for it! Nothing belongs to us anyway right?) and that you are reading Deepak. Actually, his book “The Spontaneous Fulfillment of Desire: Harnessing the Infinite Power of Coincidence to Create Miracles” http://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B000FBJDB6?btkr=1 was what really turned me on to synchronicity. I had been exploring the concept on my own after a few signs kept popping up and then a friend of mine recommended I read this. It gave me the language I needed to make my experience real. I have referred to it many times during my life and recommend it to anyone who tells me they are interested in this topic. Have you read it?

      I’m also curious to know more about how the movie “Signs” connected you to synch. I need to watch it again because I didn’t make that connection at the time.

      Looking forward to sharing God synchs here and in the FB group!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, and confidence makes it possible for a teacher to take risks, to be willing to try something new, to make mistakes in front of students, to show her/himself vulnerable, and so to engage more deeply with students.
    Thanks for this post–I’m used to thinking about confidence in relation to students, but you’ve widened my lens.

    Like

    1. Thank you for reading and for adding your thoughts. When I wrote the post, I didn’t have students in mind, but what you say is so true: we ask students to be vulnerable everyday. There seems to be a dance of confidence going on here. The teachers confidence (and I’ll add compassionate awareness), and the students confidence (and I’ll add willingness to be vulnerable), intertwine together to encourage the learning process. Without confidence on either of these sides, it seems that learning is stunted somehow.

      Like

  3. Indeed, confidence is all when it comes to being in front of people, speaking out. We all have experienced the confidence drains – what if this is too simple for them? what is my qualification for saying this? what do they think of me? what if I make a mistake? The confident people have learned that the answer to all these is ‘so what?’

    Like

    1. “So what?” such a simple, yet very valuable reply. I will think of that when I notice the confidence drain getting larger. I always struggle between the “So what?” of not caring, and the “so what? of simply attending to the moment as best as I can. I don’t want to adopt the not caring kind, but I also want to be able to stand at the front. Thank you for helping me think of this more Leonie.

      Like

Leave a Reply

